Painkiller Soundtrack (2023 Netflix Series)
Painkiller Soundtrack (2023 Netflix Series)

Painkiller Soundtrack: New slasher drama Painkiller, Lawyer, Purdue Drug Sales Company, and Iodacontin explores the US opioid crisis in detail through a stable of multiple stories. However, the Release date is August 10, 2023, on Netflix

According to its overview, The series is a fictional retelling of real-life events, “explores some of the origins and aftermath of the opioid crisis in America, highlighting the stories of the perpetrators, victims, and truth-seekers whose lives are forever altered by the invention of OxyContin”.

Painkiller begins with a specific song, The Sound of Silence by Simon & Garfunkel, that plays in the first scene of the series, in which Richard Sackler (Matthew Broderick) wakes up to a beeping smoke alarm in his large mansion.

Below, we are sharing all the songs featured in Painkiller, episode-wise. If you’ve been tapping your toes to a specific tune but don’t want to stop at Shazam, don’t worry, we’ve done the work for you!

Painkiller Soundtrack

The general music of the show is industrial, electronic, and original music, almost like Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross. It fits with the edgy, largely true (the show is made up of mostly fictional assorted characters that represent real people) scarier-than-scarier storyline. But when the licensed music starts—that is, songs you may have heard before—it tells a whole different story.

Some other uses of music are more straightforward. The first episode also features “Top Yourself”, a great rock song by The Raconteurs (one of Jack White’s projects). This is played during the introduction of Glenn Krieger (Taylor Kitsch), a mechanic who is eventually injured on the job and becomes addicted to OxyContin during his long journey to recovery.

The Raconteurs song isn’t specifically meant to demonstrate any big point or significant comparison, but rather to tell us that before OxyContin came into this man’s life, his life was pretty decent and comfortable.

These are the kinds of stories Painkiller tells, and the music lands somewhere in that range – from making a point to being a good representative of what we’re seeing.

Painkiller | Official Trailer | Netflix
Painkiller Soundtrack (2023 Netflix Series)

Painkiller’s official soundtrack From The Netflix Serie

The series is apparently home to some very fast-paced, as well as, ominous-sounding songs that run through the background of the show, bringing to life some of Painkiller’s most tense scenes.

As you can tell by the names of the songs, they punctuate some of the most important scenes in the play and help bring the feel of the story.

The score for the series comes from award-winning music composer Matt Morton, who has composed music for such productions as Apollo 11, Dinosaur 13 as well as Why Did You Kill Me.

The full track listing of the Painkiller soundtrack is as follows:

  • Little Sexy Aliens 3:16
  • Richard Was Heren 2:22
  • Searing Pain 1:03
  • An Endless Supply of Customers 1:53
  • Lobotomy in a Bottle 2:09
  • Heart Attack 1:43
  • Living in the Stone Age 0:54
  • It’s a Cycle of 2:30
  • Felt Like a Sheriff 2:21
  • A Drug Is Born 3:18
  • Target Curtis Wright 1:01
  • Visiting Shawn 1:57
  • Glen Spills 1:53
  • You’re Not Being Honest With Me 1:22
  • I Enjoy Every Day That I Live 1:01
  • Is Believed 2:37
  • Merchant of Death 3:16
  • Fake Crutches 1:54
  • Glen Lies to Get More Pills 1:25
  • The Landmark Study 1:02
  • Swerving 1:05
  • That’s a Lie 2:38
  • I’m Not Intimidated 3:10
  • Things You Wanna Know 3:28
  • Day of Reckoning 2:14
  • It’s Going to Keep Happening 2:51
  • I Want You to Know Me 1:33
  • Relapse 1:05

Painkiller: Every song featured in the Netflix drama

Below, you can find every song used in the show, sorted by episode.

Episode 1 Painkiller Soundtrack of The One to Start With, The One to Stay With

  • “Sound of Silence” by Simon & Garfunkel – “The Sound of Silence”, originally “The Sounds of Silence”, is a song by American music composer Simon & Garfunkel, written by Paul Simon.
  • “Top Yourself” by The Raconteurs
The Flatlanders- Down in My Hometown
Painkiller Soundtrack (2023 Netflix Series)
  • “Sabotage” by The Beastie Boys – “Sabotage” is a song by American rap rock group Beastie Boys, released in January 1994 as the first single from their fourth studio album, Ill Communication (1994).
  • “Blow Your Whistle (feat. Chuck Brown & The Soul Searchers)” by Chuck Brown.
  • “Candy” by Iggy Pop – “Candy” is a song from Iggy Pop’s ninth solo album, Brick by Brick. A duet with the B-52’s Kate Pearson in September 1990, it was the album’s second single.

Episode 2 Soundtrack of Jesus Gave Me Water

  • “Psycho Killer (LP Version)” by Talking Heads – “Psycho Killer” is a song by the American band Talking Heads, released on their 1977 debut studio album Talking Heads: 77.

Episode 3 Soundtrack of Blizzard of the Century

El Diferente - Frankie Figueroa y su Orquesta La Madre
Painkiller Soundtrack (2023 Netflix Series)
  • Hustlin’ by Rick Ross – “Psycho Killer” is a song by the American band Talking Heads, released on their 1977 debut studio album Talking Heads: 77.
  • Tusk by Fleetwood Mac – Tusk is the twelfth studio album by British-American rock band Fleetwood Mac, released as a double album on 19 October 1979 by Warner Bros. Records.
  • I Want Candy – The song is released by The Rubix Cubes
  • Kickstart My Heart – Mötley Crüe – “Kickstart My Heart” is a song by American heavy metal band Mötley Crüe, originally released on their 1989 album, Dr. Feelgood.
  • I Put a Spell On You – Screamin’ Jay Hawkins – “I Put a Spell on You” is a 1956 song written and composed by Jesse “Screamin’ Jay” Hawkins, whose own recording was selected as one of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s 500 Songs who shaped rock and roll.

Episode 4 Painkiller Soundtrack of Is Believe

  • Chicken Train Stomp by The Ozark Mountain Daredevils – The Ozark Mountain Daredevils are a southern rock/country rock band formed in 1972 in Springfield, Missouri, United States.
  • Feel So Good by Mase – “Feel So Good” is the debut single by American hip-hop artist Mase. It was released in October 1997 through Arista Records and Puff Daddy’s Bad Boy Records as the lead single from their debut album, Harlem World, and appeared on the Money Talks soundtrack.

Episode 5 Painkiller Soundtrack of Hot! Hot! Hot!

  • Macarena by Los del Río – “Macarena” is a dance song by Spanish pop duo Los del Río, about a woman of the same name. A type of clave rhythm has been used in the song.
  • Groove is in the Heart by Deee-Lite – “Groove Is in the Heart” is a song by American dance band D-Lite, released in August 1990 as the first and lead single from their debut album, World Click (1990).
  • Step into the Breeze – The song is composed by Spiritualized

Episode 6 Painkiller Soundtrack What’s in a Name?

  • Heroin by The Velvet Underground & Nico – “Heroin” is a song by the Velvet Underground, released on their 1967 debut album The Velvet Underground & Nico.
  • Via Luna – Peter Davidson composed the song, Via Luna
  • The Sound of Silence by Simon & Garfunkel – “The Sound of Silence”, originally “The Sounds of Silence”, is a song by the American music duo Simon & Garfunkel, written by Paul Simon.

The Painkiller Soundtrack is available to stream on all major streaming services including (Spotify) and (Apple Music) and is also available to purchase via (Amazon).

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *